Adia Victoria Announces New Album, Shares Video for…


Adia Victoria has introduced her subsequent album. A Southern Gothic arrives September 17 by way of Canvasback Music.

The brand new LP options appearances from Nationwide’s Matt Berninger, Margo Worth, Jason Isbell, and extra. It was government-produced by T Bone Burnett and co-produced by Adia Victoria and Mason Hickman.

At this time, Victoria has launched the album opener “Magnolia Blues” together with a music video. Test it out beneath, and scroll down for the LP artwork and tracklist.

Of “Magnolia Blues,” Victoria in a press launch:

In an unpublished manuscript in 1933, William Faulkner spoke on the Southerner’s “want to speak, to inform, since oratory is our heritage.” After a yr spent in my room in Nashville, I puzzled what tales I needed to inform. Typically the one view of the South past my window was the magnolia tree in my yard. It blocked the remainder of the world from my sight. I restricted my gaze to its limbs, its leaves and the obscene bloom of its iconic white flower.

The magnolia has stood as an integral image of Southern fantasy making, romanticism, the Misplaced Reason behind the Confederates and the white washing of Southern reminiscence. ‘Magnolia Blues’ is a reclaiming of the magnolia—an unburdening if its limbs of the lies it has stood for. This music facilities the narrative of a Black Southern girl’s livid quest to seek out her method again residence to the South beneath the shade of her Magnolia.

“Magnolia Blues” is an ode to Southern Black folks—too usually hemmed out of what we imply after we say “Southerner”—and it’s also an ode to the South itself. To rescue it from—within the phrases of William Faulkner—“a make imagine area of swords and magnolias and mockingbirds which maybe by no means existed.”

A Southern Gothic marks Victoria’s third studio album, following 2019’s Silences. In the course of the writing course for the brand new LP, Victoria listened to Alan Lomax’s previous area recordings, which grew to become a base for her and Mason Hickman’s layered components.

“I might say that the philosophy behind this document is, ‘Necessity is the mom of invention,’” Victoria mentioned in press supplies. “It’s additionally, ‘While you don’t have extra when that’s all stripped away, what are you gon’ do with that?’ What artwork are you able to make from strolling by means of your mom’s backyard?”

A Southern Gothic:

01 Magnolia Blues
02 Imply-Hearted Lady
03 You Was Born to Die [ft. Kyshona Armstrong, Margo Price, and Jason Isbell] 04 Complete World Is aware of
05 Troubled Thoughts
06 Far From Dixie
07 Please Come Down
08 My oh My [ft. Stone Jack Jones] 09 Deep Water Blues
10 Carolina Sure
11 South for the Winter [ft. Matt Berninger]

1 Comment on "Adia Victoria Announces New Album, Shares Video for…"

  1. La'bron Robinson | August 15, 2021 at 1:18 pm | Reply

    That Slow Southern Groove has got me hooked!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.